Board Meeting Schedule

2024: January 16, March 19, May 21, July 16, September 17, November 19, December 17

Board Meeting Minutes

Pollinator Day Event 2024

Recycle Floyd County will host a booth at the Pollinator Day Event at Purdue Research Park, 3000 Technology Avenue, New Albany, on April 27, 2024, from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. This is a free event and includes lots of activities (Games, crafts, food trucks, local vendors, selfie-station, and booths full of information) for the entire family. There will be educational classes on pollinators. Come stop by our booth and learn about recycling!

Congratulations to Maggie who won a hummingbird feeder and nectar at the Pollinator Event. Other winners are Ryan, who won a Bluebird House, and Tammy, who won a Bee House. Thanks for visiting our booth and learning about recycling!

Brownie Troop Volunteers

Pictured from left to right: Emma Doggendorf, Claire Deibel, Cici Hamilton, Nora Loughmiller, Savanah Adams, Hannah Pitts; Back row: Recycle Floyd County Director, Scott Stewart

Troop 24 from Southern Indiana volunteered at the Annex Recycle Center on Grant Line Road! The troop includes girls from Georgetown Elementary, Greenville Elementary, and Floyd’s Knobs Elementary.

Troop leaders: Jenny Deibel and Angelica Doggendorf


Floyd County Solid Waste Management District

2524 Corydon Pike Suite #103
New Albany IN 47150
(812) 948-4733

Scott Stewart
[email protected]

Administration Office Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM

Follow us on Facebook

Board of Directors

Jason Sharp
Board President,
Floyd County Commissioner

Brad Striegel
Board Vice President,
Floyd County Council

John Schellenberger
Floyd County Commissioner

Al Knable
Floyd County Commissioner

Adam Dickey
New Albany City Council

Brandon Hopf
Georgetown Town Board

Jeff Gahan
New Albany Mayor

Recycling Centers


3005 Grant Line Road
New Albany
(812) 948-4733


Tuesday – Friday
9:00 AM – 5:00 PM

9:00 AM – 2:00 PM

Household Hazardous Waste
April – October, 2nd Saturday of each month
9:00 AM to 1:00 PM


Galena Digital Library
6954 Highway 150
Floyds Knobs
(812) 948-4733


9:00 AM to 5:00 PM


When we recycle one ton of paper, we prevent 60 pounds of air pollution.

Floyd County only contributed 786 tons of recyclables in 2020, while our neighbor Clark County was able to produce 26,395 tons.  We can do better!

Indiana’s recycling rate is 19.1%, while the national average is 35%.  Indiana’s low recycling rate leads to the creation of 2.35 tons of new landfill waste per person every year.  We can do better!

Indiana recycling increased slightly from 18.6% in 2019 to 19.1% 2020.

The recycling rate reached a high of only 20% between the years of 2015-2020.

Clark-Floyd landfills receive approximately 1,200 tons of waste every day.

In 2020, Indiana disposed of 6,212,494 tons of waste through in-state landfills and an additional 482,561 tons in out-of-state landfills.

Indiana’s produces 8,882,318 tons of waste from landfills, energy, recycling, composting, E-waste.

The United States makes up 4% of the world population but is the number 1 producer of garbage.

What makes up Indiana’s recycling?